You are here


2022 Awards and HOF Inductees

Congratulations to our 2022 Award Winners and Hall of Fame inductees:

1A Coach of the Year

John Frech - (Louisville) North Clay H.S.

1A Player of the Year

Donnie Zimmerman - North Clay H.S

1A At-Large Coach of the Year

John Sutton - Steelville HS

2A Coach of the Year

Jared Voss - Joliet Catholic Academy

2A Player of the Year

Hayden Brazelton - St. Joseph - Ogden

2A At-Large Coach of the Year

2021 Awards and HoF Inductees

Congratulations to our 2021 Award Winners and Hall of Fame inductees:

1A Coach of the Year           Curt Jones, (Farina) South Central H.S.

1A Player of the Year           Chase Dodson, (Farina) South Central H.S.

2A Coach of the Year           Drew Gericke, Freeburg H.S.

2A Player of the Year           Colin Brueggemann, Freeburg H.S.

1A At-Large Coach of the Year      Jacob McEvers, Greenfield/Northwestern H. S.

Letter to the IHSA


Dear IHSA Executive Board: 

A Message to Our Members

So much has happened in the past 7 months that it’s hard keep up with the ever-changing terms, guidelines, and conditions that the Governor’s Office, the IDPH, and the IHSA have thrown at us.  Yesterday’s preemptive announcement by Governor Pritzker that basketball will be “postponed” has left all of us wondering why it’s possible to conduct high school sports in every state that surrounds Illinois, but here we’re forced to accept a ruling without much detailed data to support that ruling, especially considering guidelines were followed by Illinois high school coaches and players this fall

Virtual Clinic in 2021


Disappointingly but not surprisingly, the IHSBCA is forced to cancel our in-person Coaches Clinic and Hall of Fame Banquet in January.  We are still committed to providing our membership an outstanding opportunity to learn from some of the best baseball minds in the country.  To that end, we will host a virtual clinic with a variety of topics, accessible on our web site. When you pay your dues ($35 for an individual, $100 for a staff), you will be given access to the clinic videos.  Registration and clinic details will follow in a later email.  

IHSA Decision on Baseball in 2020-21


2019 Award Winners

Class 1A Coach of the Year

Todd Hopkins, Marquette Academy

Class 2A Coach of the Year

Justin Fleener, Teutopolis High School

Class 3A Coach of the Year

Rich Janor, Montini Catholic High School

Class 4A Coach of the Year

Tim Funkhouser, Edwardsville High School


1A Player of the Year

Drew Winters, Routt Catholic High School

2A Player of the Year

Rings for Hall of Famers

Attention all former IHSBCA Hall of Fame inductees:  Do you want to commemorate your pretigious honor with a HoF ring?  Click on the following for more info:



Fall Chalk Talks

We will be hosting Fall Chalk Talks at Normal West on November 3 from 8:00 am-noon and one at Wheaton North High School November 3 from 8:00 am-noon.  

2019 Summer Open Tournament

  • Monday, June 17 - Wednesday, June 19
  • Springfield, IL  Venues: Lincoln Land Community College, University of Illinois, Springfield, Pleasant Plains High School
  • 32 teams maximum - First 32 teams to register
  • Double Elimination
  • Incoming Freshmen - Class of 2020 eligible
  • Hotel Discounts
  • Entry Fee $300 per team
  • Registration Deadline: May 25
  • Contact Dave Greer (217) 494-7749