You are here


2019 Summer Open Tournament

  • Monday, June 17 - Wednesday, June 19
  • Springfield, IL  Venues: Lincoln Land Community College, University of Illinois, Springfield, Pleasant Plains High School
  • 32 teams maximum - First 32 teams to register
  • Double Elimination
  • Incoming Freshmen - Class of 2020 eligible
  • Hotel Discounts
  • Entry Fee $300 per team
  • Registration Deadline: May 25
  • Contact Dave Greer (217) 494-7749

2018 Award Winners

The IHSBCA is proud to announce our annual award winners for the 2018 season.

Class 1A Coaches of the Year

Aurora (A. Christian)             Andy Zorger 

Ottawa (Marquette)              Todd Hopkins

Valmeyer                               Greg Reinhardt

Goreville                                Shawn Tripp

At Large Coach of the Year   Andrew Hagerman  Okaw Valley HS

1A Player of the Year

Jake Kutzendorf - (So.) Aurora Christian

Class 2A Coaches of the Year

Spring Valley Hall                    Tom Keegan

Hall of Fame Rings

Attention past and new IHSBCA Hall of Fame inductees:  Commemorate your induction by ordering a Hall of Fame ring!  Information on how to order can be found by clicking on the following link:

HoF Ring

Sam Knox to speak at October meeting

Mark your calendars!  Our next meeting/mini-clinic is Wednesday, October 17th at the Home Run Inn on 75th and Lemont Roads in Darien at 7:30pm.  These monthly events are a great opportunity to touch base with other coaches to talk baseball (and it's FREE for all IHSBCA members!)  The guest speaker for October's meeting will be IHSA Assistant Executive Director and Baseball Administrator, Sam Knox.  We hope to see you there, and please spread the word to your assistant coaches as well.

Fall Chalk Talk Mini-Clinic


The IHSBCA has an exciting new program we are offering this fall… our first “Fall Chalk Talk”

What: A mini-clinic in the fall (similar to the ABCA Barnstormers clinic) consisting of some of the top HS coaches in the state sharing their knowledge and expertise on a very specific topic

When: Sunday, November 4, 2018 from 8:00am-11:30am

Where: Burlington Central High School Fieldhouse (44w625 Plato Rd., Burlington, IL 60109) Just west of Elgin.

2017 Award Winners

Congratulations to the following award winners:

Les Miller Man of the Year

Luke Gregerson    Houston Astros


Hall of Fame

John Schultz        Pittsfield

Doug Livingston    Auburn/Harlem

David Engle        Barrington

Lee Milano        Nazareth Academy

Bob Montgomery    Morrisonville

Bill Milano        Maine South


Assistant Coach of the Year

Dick Canan        Reavis


Media Relations Person of the Year

2018 Coaches Clinic

It's time to start planning for the 2018 IHSBCA Coaches Clinic which will take place at the Westin Hotel in Lombard on Friday, January 19, and Saturday, January 20.  To reserve your room at the IHSBCA group rate, please click below.


2016 Award Winners

Les Miller Man of the Year

John Mallee                 Chicago Cubs

Hall of Fame

Richard Pildes             Taft HS

Kenny Fullman           Harlan HS

Robin Lewis                Beardstown HS

Chris Hawkins            Normal West HS

Gene Cahan                Crete-Monee HS

Robin Renner              Neuqua Valley HS


Assistant Coach of the Year

Jason Vitas                  Providence Catholic HS



2017 IHSBCA Clinic

Don't miss out on the 56th Annual IHSBCA Clinic on January 20 & 21 at the Westin Hotel in Lombard Yorktown! Clinic organizer Kyle Nelson has put together a great list of presenters. 

If you are planning to stay overnight at the hotel, please CLICK HERE to book your room at the discounted group rate.

2015 Award Winners

Les Miller Man of the Year

Craig Anderson           IHSA


Hall of Fame

Neal Bertram               Rockford Lutheran HS

Mark Jackley               Mattoon HS

Don Erickson              Reavis HS

Joel Hawkins               Highland HS

Tim Funkhouser          Edwardsville HS

Wayne King                Joliet Junior College


Assistant Coach of the Year

Sean Ferrell                 Libertyville HS